- concise city guide. basics you should know about the city life.          



       While staying in Minsk in winter, do not miss the chance to visit our downhill skiing centres. Sunny Valley this skiing centre is situated within the boundaries of the city. Ski lift, toboggan, ski and snowboards hire.
      Raubichy near the skiing complex stands an imposing 19th c pseudo-gothic RC church that hosts a museum of folk art. Silichy a ski resort in the outskirts of Minsk. Picturesque landscape, clear air, a cable road (25,000 BYR (9 USD) for a 3-hour ticket), a skating rink(12,000 BYR (4 USD)/hour), several restaurants and cafes, Lavina (Avalanche) night club (entrance: 15,000 BYR (5 USD)), comfortable cottages and a hotel (512,000 BYR (180 USD) 4-bed cottage/210,000 BYR (75 USD) 2-bed hotel room)
       Stalin's Line the quintessence of Belarusians' love to soviet period of their history. This newly built outdoor museum is dedicated to the victory of Soviet people and their generalissimo Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945. One can find there 'the most complete exposition in the Republic of Belarus of all artillery and military equipment, which was adopted in different years, beginning from the war times'. Admission: 12,000 BYR (4 USD). Available amusements: shooting from army weapons (3,000 BYR/1 USD for a shot); riding on the armoured machinery (300,000 BYR (105 USD) for 20 minutes ride), quadrocycles (5,000 BYR (2 USD) for 2X250 m laps). Army cafe offers fat soldiers porridge (4,200 BYR / 1,5 USD).
       Open-Air Museum of Wooden Architecture a picturesque place some 7 km from Minsk, where wooden churches, huts, barns from different regions of the country were moved to conserve and show them to a few visitors. Admission: 5,000 BYR (2 USD).
       Mir castle, a UNESCO World Heritage site 15th century Gothic style castle built by duke Ilinich near the town of Mir. Since 16th c the castle was owned by Radziwills' clan. A three-storied palace in Renaissance style was built along the walls of the castle. The castle was severely damaged by Russians in 1794. The last owner M. Swiatopolk-Mirski partially restored the building. During the WW 2  Nazis arranged a ghetto for the local Jewish population on the territory of the castle. The soviet state began the restauration of the Mir castle in 1982, and still it is not finished.

New travel routes are available at our new site "Travel to Belarus"

free counters


 SeeMinsk.narod.ru (c) MMX 

Сайт управляется системой uCoz